nothing but song

March 21, 2009

How does one spend a weekend of absolutely pining for nothing and only music to get by? Well, that person just does. After much hamming and hawing I find myself landing squarely on a puddle of weekend that just might sum up the maniac week I’ve sorta had.

I am just listening to it now and I am loving it. Metric’s new one, Fantasies, is a breath of fresh air from the saturated I have been listening to. Bar the fact they have taken a lot of the electronic out of their new one, they have still managed to calm their fans with great arrangements and production.

You just can’t go wrong with Emily Haines and songs on Fantasies does posses signs of typical Metric. But production has taken a turn, for the better I say. If The Killers has smartness in their lyrics and arrangements, they must’ve  gotten it from Metric. There is no taking away what Metric has done for the sound of electronic rock.

If in doubt, just rock out to Metric, leave out the others.

www.myspace.com/metric

Leave a comment